Witnessed Shrinkflation Up Close Today

Weight is a factor if one is hauling these up/down stairs by themselves. A full US keg (1/2 barrel) weighs 165# full. Ugh. 1/4 barrels (7.75 gallons) weigh 83# full, and a sixer 55#. All of these are approximate because the weight of a gallon of beer depends on the alcohol content (i.e. specific gravity value).

.)

In my younger years, I used to work as an assistant to the beer delivery truck driver at a major brewery. We delivered to local restaurants and most of our deliveries were kegs of various sizes. An yes, many locations stored the kegs down many winding stairs in some cellar or up many winding stairs. I can confirm that the weight of the kegs was a big issue, but what was even worse was the the fact that each keg has a certain headspace so that the beer would swoosh back and forth while you were trying to navigate the stairs while trying to desperately hang on to the keg that was awkwardly placed on your shoulder.... quite an experience....:angel:

I bought a bag of Kroger chips that were much less expensive than the name brands. When I open the bag it wasn't even half full! Shrink inflation involves more than packaged sized. Will need to check cost per ounce going forward. Good thing is I need less chips health wise, but I want to decide how much less!

You *always* have to look at $/unit (whichever unit is appropriate) if you are trying to get the best price.

-ERD50

Weight is a factor if one is hauling these up/down stairs by themselves. A full US keg (1/2 barrel) weighs 165# full. Ugh. 1/4 barrels (7.75 gallons) weigh 83# full, and a sixer 55#. All of these are approximate because the weight of a gallon of beer depends on the alcohol content (i.e. specific gravity value).

Yes, I've spent too much time around beer. (A lot of this is from brewing beer.)