Uh oh a job offer has come my way! Might be coming out of retirement...

johnnyfuego

Recycles dryer sheets
What to do, what to do. A little background info - before my 28 years as a firefighter, I was a thru freight brakeman/conductor for the Missouri-Kansas-Texas (Katy) railroad. I enjoyed it, but was furloughed several times, so after 6 1/2 years and 87,000 miles of riding the rails all over Texas, I changed career paths to become a ff with more job security and now I'm retired with a great pension. It has been a great 18 months.

This week, after just inquiring for grins and giggles on a posting on indeed.com, on my birthday no less, I was offered the position of switchman at a local power plant, to be cross trained as an engineer. The opportunity just fell in my lap straight out of the sky. It is fairly simple work. In a nutshell, we just receive the arriving coal train off of the adjoining UP railroad, take the train to the power plant, position the first three cars for unloading with the locomotives, then the power plant personnel take over with the automatic coal car unloader. We go to the yard office and hang out until they are done, then, if needed, set out cars that need repair (bad order), then take the unloaded train back to the UP main line and turn it back over to the other railroad to take back to Powder River Basin in Wyoming for reloading. Then it's back home for a day or two or three, depending on how much time the trains take to make their way back. I'm told there are relaxed easy going crews I will be working with and they are all in their 50's and 60's.