Are you still an athlete?

cbo111

Full time employment: Posting here.
I just turned 61 and realized I am still competing in the same sport I loved as a kid, for over 45 years, which is kind of nice. I started playing tennis at 15 and my instructor was Bjorn Borg. I watched him on tv, then tried to mimic while hitting the backboard at high school. When I was a senior I decided to try out for the tennis team and beat the top kid rather easily. I continued playing in college and did tournaments for many years. I still play in USTA leagues, which are very competitive here in Bradenton/Sarasota.
My question to you athletes out there; are you still competing in your childhood sport and how's it going?

I started playing golf at 13 and still play today at 64. Many don't consider golfers as athletes and that's fine. I still enjoy playing however.

Oh, golfers are athletes for sure. Just go to a pro golf event and walk along the players as they pulverize the ball. I followed Lexi Thompson for a couple holes at Templeton Challenge a couple years ago. She is a focused athlete and fit right in with the men. And hits it almost as far as the men!

I've run at least one marathon a year since 2008, and just signed up for my next one in August. I've had some health issues that have slowed me down the last couple of years but I'm working to get back in shape to qualify for Boston again. Very unlikely to make it this year but maybe I can qualify next year for 2021 or 2022. I still bristle a bit if someone calls me a jogger. I'm a runner, dammit!

Yes and no, probably more no than yes.

I played a lot of different sports as a youth and young adult... tennis, skiing (snow and water... hence pb4uski), softball, volleyball and others. I did take up golf when I was in my early 20s.