Brain training games

FREE866

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I'm not sure if this has been discussed, but does anyone here do brain training games? I do Lumosity and have for a couple years. It's like 10-15 minutes a day. Not sure if it really helps the brain and I'm also a little dubious that my results are in the "high percentile" for almost every category :LOL:
Anyone have other suggestions? are these things even legit?

thanks!

Last edited:
Try learning a foreign language. I've heard that that gives your brain a good workout.

I'm studying German at the moment.

omni

Last edited:
My DH and I play games almost every day. The one that seems to work our brains the most is chess. We also like word games like Scrabble and Quiddler.

I've always been a chess nerd, and still solve puzzles and play online almost daily.

For about a year, I've been using star charts to learn to identify the brightest stars I can see with my naked eye, which also have very cool names - mainly Arabic, also some Chinese, Latin, Greek. So far, I have memorized and can point to about 75 of them.

It's more challenging than it sounds, as the constellations don't stay in the same place, and look different depending on the time of year. Also, due to light pollution from the mainland, I can't see any stars to the west - so have to wait for those to come around to where I can see them.

Was excited to recognize Canopus, the second-brightest star, which I've never seen (or noticed, anyway) before. At first I assumed it was either a planet, or a plane taking off from a distant airport.