Understand 1095-A form

Eucerin

Recycles dryer sheets
I just received 1095-A form for 2019, it is my first year in 2019 so I try to understand it.
On the form partIII,
columnA - monthly enrollment premium $1375.29
columnB - monthly second lowest cost silver plan premium $1292.04
columnC - monthly advance payment of premium tax credit $1072.

when I obtained insurance in the beginning of 2019, the monthly premium was 1383.45, the monthly tax credit was 1072, I have paid net monthly premium $311.45 for 12 month in 2019.

Why is the 1095-A form stated different monthly enrollment premium?

What is the purpose of columnB?

THANKS!!

As to Column A, I have seen small differences in this amount some years. Other years it's accurate or very close. I called and asked one time and the explanation is that some insurance plans will include something that is not part of the requirements of an ACA plan. So they can only include the required parts. That may be your $8.16 difference.

The purpose of Column B is that all subsidies are based on the second lowest cost silver plan (SLCSP) for your area and your age. Using your income as a percentage of the Federal Poverty Level and a chart from the IRS determines how much your monthly contribution should be. Deduct that from the SLCSP and you get your subsidy amount. Then you can decide if you want to use that subsidy amount on a lower or higher cost plan.

It's all very confusing until you see how it works out for YOU. Then it will make sense. It's all to reconcile if you got all the subsidy that you are due, or if you got too much and need to pay it back.

I'll see if I can find the info on irs.gov.

The form is 8962 https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f8962.pdf

The instructions for form 8962
https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/i8962.pdf The chart is Table 2 on Page 9.

Last edited:
Just comparisons the second lowest cost plan vs what your actual plan premiums "Should" be, then how much the ACA gave you towards it.