Hi,I'm retired and living in China and in France

BobbinChina

Dryer sheet wannabe
Loving my retirement but I spend a lot of time researching financial options and issues relative to retirement. I don't have a pension so I have to manage my assets myself to ensure a well-funded, and probably long retirement.

I was an engineer but also took the 2 year course to obtain the CFP license so I am pretty comfortable with the financial aspects of retirement. Still, things change all the time and I try to keep abreast of the changes and new products coming online.

I tend to agree with the folks who say they don't know how they found the time to work as I seem to be busy all the time. But at least I'm busy doing fun projects that I invent rather than work assignments.

I did retire early (at age 47) and then worked again for a few years and re-retired at age 58, so I guess you could say that I've had a lot of experience with retiring:LOL:

Welcome aboard, BobbinChina. Sounds like you've got some early retirement experience you can share.

omni

What ReWahoo said. Do tell more. As China and France are such different places, I'd be interested to know the appeal of each of those countries for you. Perhaps you're Chinese, and love France? Or perhaps you're American, and there are specific reasons you like both those places?

Hope you don't mind the questions!

Yes, would love to hear more about China and France and how you came to live there! :)

Wow! such interest...how kind

I'm American but spend about 6 months in each country (in 3 month bursts). I enjoy the fact that they are so wildly different from each other...china and france. I own in China and rent in France. I was lucky to have sold my house in the US right at the top of the housing bubble so that helps me fund this lifestyle.