Article on safe withdrawal rates

Dwhit

Recycles dryer sheets
As a relative newb to the FIRE subject, I ran across this article on safe withdrawal rates. I thought it was a good base explanation, with some interesting ideas on top of the basics. I had not seen anything on using the PE ratio to help pick a SWR, but this made some sense.

Do most FIRE 'ers use a set withdrawal rate, or do you tend to vary each year depending on how your savings grow for the year?

http://www.kitces.com/assets/pdfs/Kitces_Report_May_2008.pdf

Do most FIRE 'ers use a set withdrawal rate, or do you tend to vary each year depending on how your savings grow for the year?

As a noob myself, I haven't seen much consensus on this perennial topic. Maybe that's a good thing(?)

Tyro

I suspect there are almost as many withdrawal strategies as there are members here, and many that will work in the long run. However, I doubt there are many people who blindly follow the 4% withdrawal methodology, and the various authors really weren't recommending it. 4% SWR was/is a statistical benchmark or rule of thumb, not an absolute recommendation - by definition 4% was conservative historically (95% chance you'd have money left). What the future brings is for each of us to contemplate and act on.

As FIRECALC results show, the range of outcomes is considerable (example below). If you're fortunate, you will find as your retirement proceeds you'll have to spend (or leave) more - a nice problem to have. If your timing proves to be 'unlucky,' you'll be faced with a decision to reduce spending or more risk you could run out of money later in life. Most people probably rerun FIRECALC (or an equivalent) periodically and adjust accordingly throughout retirement.

As you might suspect, your question is often discussed here, lots of discussion already posted that might interest you, hopefully some you'll be comfortable with, best of luck...http://www.early-retirement.org/forums/search.php?searchid=2398703