TMRS (Texas Municipal Retirement System)

hopefullyoneday

Recycles dryer sheets
I am a firefighter and the city's pension is in the red and they are considering moving it to TMRS. I want to retire early with 20 years of service and 50 years old and don't know if this will change that for me. Anybody in or had a similar situation or knowledge if this move is good or bad.
Thanks
Greg

I was curious about what TMRS is so I looked it up. Sounds like it depends on what your city decides to do when it joins unless you already have the requisite service if they change.

Attachments

• TMRS.JPG
    TMRS.JPG
    142.9 KB · Views: 43
I am a firefighter and the city's pension is in the red and they are considering moving it to TMRS. I want to retire early with 20 years of service and 50 years old and don't know if this will change that for me. Anybody in or had a similar situation or knowledge if this move is good or bad.
Thanks
Greg

Texas Municipal Retirement system?

So many government entities have promised the moon and not properly funded those promises. It is like they think they are above the law.

In the meantime, you should be funding Roth IRA to the max. And if your wife has a job, she should be funding pensions as possible.

As a fireman, do you have a secondary job? Many are self employed on the side. If so, you might want to step up the other job.

Last edited:
I looked over the information found at the link donheff provided. There are quite a few components of TRMS and how they relate to your question. In general it sounds like the TRMS retirement age is 60 but as donheff indicated so many of the features of TRMS are determined by the municipality when they adopt the program.