Help on medicare

Texas Proud

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
There have been many threads on medicare and I read them off and on trying to pick up some info for when I have to purchase in a few years... so, I am far from an expert in the plans...

BUT, I need to learn as much as I can quickly... some background... my mom is on a medicare advantage plan that is offered through the Texas teacher retirement system.... she has had many problems this year...

Early in the year she fell and broke a small piece of her pelvis... was in the hospital for a number of days and then moved to skilled nursing... there for (not sure) 8 to 10 weeks... at the very end she had her arm dislocated and went to the hospital again... they kept her a couple of days because her salts (or something) was out of whack and they were worried...

We have since moved her to a memory care facility that is pretty good, but she has swelling and other issues... OH, forgot to tell that she went into AFIB sometime last year and is in and out of that.... she has had home nursing care off and on the past 4 or so months...

The problem is that the insurance is starting to refuse her home nursing care... the nurse and facility people say they keep working to get her help, but so far not much is happening...

SOOO, the memory care had said that regular medicare is 'better' in getting home health care since all it takes it the Dr. order...

Without going into much more detail as this is already getting long... is there a good website where I can read about what it might cost me if we go that way? I am pretty sure I will not be able to get her supplemental insurance with her age and condition... and I do not want to go regular medicare if there is no limit to what I would have to pay in case she has to do some more hospital visits...

Any other thoughts that you might be able to give me if you or someone you know has gone through this?