Arbonne International

FDCaptain

Dryer sheet aficionado
Anyone have any experience with Arbonne products?

Any experience with multi-level marketing sales?

Thanks!

FDCaptain

Is this a joke?

Arbonne is the joke...I knew someone who got sucked into this, it's a lot like Amway, and a good way to reduce your circle of friends and relatives....hmm, maybe there is an opportunity here.

Multi-level marketing companies are strongly associated with pyramid schemes. Having said that, I have some knowledge of the Amway business plan, but none of the company mentioned.

Last edited:
Google "multi-level marketing" and the top entries include "The Ten Big Lies of MLM", "MLM Watch" (Exposes pyramid schemes get-rich hype and dubious product claims), "The Mirage of MLM", etc.

It appears that being able to tell a legitimate MLM from a Ponzi scheme is an important skill to have before getting involved.

The FTC offers some info on the basic things to look out for. Multilevel Marketing Plans

Other than that my issue with the concept is that once you have sold all you can to your friends, family and coworkers (and yourself), you're stuck with cold-calling. That's always been a tough way to make a living.

I think the only people who ever make any real money in these deals are the guys who started it and the people who are really good at selling the system (i.e. recruiting [-]new suckers to sign up to sell[/-] a downline) rather than the product.

I have a casual acquaintance who sells their products and uses them herself. She gave me some samples, which I gave to a friend, who loved them but didn't buy anything. It's side income for her, not full-time, and I'm not sure how long she's been doing it, nor how much she makes from it.

OK, I can't resist any longer...

It's like putting lipstick on a pig...

I have heard that one before...but it is funny.