Bail out of Stable Value in a 401k?

prudent_one

Recycles dryer sheets
My brother is thinking about pulling out of the Stable Value fund in his 401k. He's already transferred everything else out of the 401k to an IRA. He can't get back in if he moves out of it. The SV yield for now is a guaranteed 1.8% and he's attracted to 4% in a money market fund. He's retired, living on SS and withdrawals, no pension. I don't believe he has any real money concerns, my feeling is he saved a lot and he's not a spender.

He is very conservative with risk and has an AA of 30% stock/40% bond/30% cash.

Should he have any concerns about leaving the SV fund for a better return in money market funds? I wanted to say do it right now but as I'm no expert on SV funds I said I would research first.

I bailed out of my SV fund a couple of years ago. Its yields were never that great and there are much better options elsewhere.

My guess is that the age of easy money is over and you’ll get >2% yields with no/minimal risk when things normalize. Not much benefit in owning an SV fund.

Just a guess on my part though. You never know what the future holds.

One thing he might consider doing (if possible) is move the 401K money from stable value to bonds or stocks inside the 401K. Then on his IRA and/or after tax account sell out the same amount of bonds and stocks into cash and use that cash to buy into a money market fund.

So its really a 2 part question:
1. should he move out of the 401K stable value to his rollover IRA?
I did so I'm biased to saying yes he should.
2. "he's attracted to 4% in a money market fund."
I would not trade the stable value fund for a money market fund as a long term plan. When rates drop the money market fund will drop the fastest of any other alternative. During the dark days of 0% interest, my 401K Stable Value fund (2.2%) was a cash haven.