Be honest: Which of your pre-FIRE plans turned out to be coping fantasies?

Followed the plan

I started consulting a day a week the week after I retired. Kept that up for 5 years. Run in the mornings, tennis in the afternoons, pickleball in the evenings. Fish, hike and take road trips all over the country. Travel overseas. A couple of fairly intense volunteer roles chairing a college board and a large nonprofit foundation board. Everything exactly as I planned. It's a good life. Maybe because I'm an engineer my plan was just that, a well thought out plan that met our needs instead of some strange coping mechanism? But then I liked my job, I had nothing to cope with.

It was very important to retire TO SOMETHING rather than just FROM SOMETIHNG. We did not spend much time at home in Cincinnati, and took time to travel...a lot:

1. We spent 1 week on a cruise to Alaska, then 4 weeks in an RV up there.
2. We took a Round the World Cruise (137 days) and just loved it.
3. We went on a 7 week safari in 5 countries in Africa...and would like to do more of that.
4. We spend 3 months each year in the Dominican Republic
5. We volunteered at the local theater for many years until everything shut down.
6. We purchased our Forever Home in Hilton Head last year, and make quarterly visits back up to Cincinnati.

Not the specifics that we had envisioned 10 years ago, but definitely the general direction we were leaning towards. It is important to have a plan, and to seize those opportunities when they pop up.

This is an interesting thread. We also plan to travel and last year some of those plans were interrupted by Covid, but we have taken a couple trips so far this year and have a couple more planned.

We enjoy being at home so last year wasn’t really that big of a change except for not going out to eat. We’re back to normal on that.