Calculating present value of a COLA'd pension

David1961

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I know I had a class in college where I studied present value, future value, interest rate, etc for various scenarios. But my memory is fuzzy. I'm interested in computing the present value of a COLA'd pension. Here's the terminology and what I am looking for a formula for.

PV = present value of the pension
n = number of years of collecting pension (I know is not known because this is the number of years you have left to live)
i = inflation rate, also the rate that the pension goes up each year.
A = the pension amount paid during the first year.

I know that the inflation rate would not be constant. And it seems like I may also need another rate (maybe for the return of the portfolio). Not sure.

Am I missing any other variables?

Basically, I'm looking for PV given an assumed n, i, and A. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Yes, you need another rate. Any PV calculation requires a discount rate.

The formula for a life annuity with an annual payment of A, with the first payment made today, is:

A +
A x p1 x (1+cola)/(1+i) +
A x p2 x ((1+cola)^2)/((1+i)^2) +
A x p3 x ((1+cola)^3)/((1+i)^3) +

where
px = probability of being alive i years after the start date
cola = annual growth rate of the payment, e.g. assumed inflation rate
i = interest discount rate.

Given the crude nature of the assumptions, lots of people assume px = 1.00 for x<life expectancy, and px = 0 for x>life expectancy.

The calculation is simpler if you replace the term (1+cola)/(1+i) with 1/(1+i-cola)
for example, if you assume cola is 3% and the discount rate is 5%, just use a discount rate of 2%. It's not exact, but, again, the assumptions are crude anyway.

(In your college class, you learned a neat closed form solution for this geometric series. But it's obsolete in the days of free spreadsheet software.)

Last edited: