contract law question/1099 contractor

Bigdawg

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I officiate sports. Baseball and volleyball. I am an independent contractor working for mutiple organizations. Each organization issues a 1099 for the tax year. I get to deduct the usual expenses-mileage, uniforms, etc... One organization covers mutiple states. In one state, they work a three person crew (baseball) for the post season. They only (supposedly) charge the schools for a two person crew. To cover this gap the don't pay the umpires for scrimmages. For example I am scheduled for three unpaid scrimmages and aprox 25 paid games. The organization does charge the schools for the scrimmages. I actually work in a neighboring state that does charge the schools for all three umpires during the playoffs. Essentially I am working scrimmages and someone else is getting that money for a playoff game later in a different state. One of my umpire friends is checking with a few lawyer friends he has. I guess this is a contract law question. Is this legal? Lots of upheaval in sports officiating these days because of covid and other reasons. Thoughts anyone? Thanks

First thought is that you have too much time on your hands.

Second is that as long as they pay you what they initially agreed to pay you for a defined scope of work that you accepted, then both you and they have fulfilled your contract to each other.

Not a lawyer, but I don't think this is a contract violation. You agreed to certain work conditions and they are being met. There's no minimum wage requirement for contractors.

There might be some edge case in labor law though. I know that employers have to be careful not to accept volunteer labor for a job that is otherwise paid. I'm fuzzy on how that applies to non-profits (and I don't know whether the groups you're contracting with are non-profits), but that might be something for your umpire friend to ask his lawyer friends.