Contributing to both TSP and 401(k)

cons

Recycles dryer sheets
Somewhat of a unique situation but it's the first time I have ever come across this so I figured I'd pose the question to the group. My question is in regards to being able to fund your TSP AND a 401(k) from a different employer. I understand the TSP and 401(k) are essentially the same. Just curious about tax implications if I max both accounts and the max on the amount that can be matched.

I'm currently a federal employee and planning to put in my retirement paperwork in about 4 years. I have been contributing the max to my TSP and ROTH IRAs for the past 20+ years. I was recently approached by a former colleague of mine that works for a contractor, who wants to offer me a part-time consulting gig. Two days a week, no traveling involved, all work from home, with the occasional visit to headquarters once a quarter. The salary (low six figures) and 401k match (around $30k yearly) is hard to pass up. The intent is to do this consulting gig for the next few years to supplement my retirement savings. I have looked into the 401k plan which is administered my Charles Schwab, and they have all the Vanguard Index funds available in it.

I would continue to max out my TSP ($22.5k this year) that has a $10k match. The minimum contribution required to get the $30k max match from the new employer is only $4k for the year.

As far as the IRS and taxes are concerned, I would have to either withdraw the excess contribution of $4k or pay a penalty on this excess contribution, is that correct?