Cool paleogeographic visual

MichaelB

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
Site Team
Earth's landmasses were not always what they are today. Continents formed as Earth's crustal plates shifted and collided over long periods of time. This video shows how today's continents are thought to have evolved over the last 600 million years, and where they'll end up in the next 100 million years. Paleogeographic Views of Earth's History provided by Ron Blakey, Professor of Geology, Northern Arizona University.
Earth 100 Million Years From Now - YouTube

Beautiful video, and interesting - - thanks!

I learned some rudimentary paleogeography from a professor that was very talented with chalk - - and who also had some graphics bigger than posters that he flipped through. This sort of information is so much more easily communicated via digital presentations like this one.

When I was a geology student in 1974, the plate tectonic theories were just gaining widespread acceptance. But most textbooks still had the previous theory, the one that mountains formed because they were made of lighter material than the earth's crust. The plate tectonics theory turned out to be quite a lot easier to substantiate than the floating mountain one.

Also in 1974, the common thought of geo-climate folks was the earth would get a little colder due to global dimming. While global dimming did occur, NOVA | Understanding Global Dimming ,it has been overwhelmed by global warming. And actually, global dimming has helped reduce global warming's effects.

The guy with the graphics and chalk was an oceanographer at Old Dominion University, in 1975. But actually I was first taught in about both continental drift (and then plate tectonics, by name even!) in classes back in the mid to late 1960's. Guess I was lucky to have had some pretty prescient professors! :)