Did you say offshoring?

Status
Not open for further replies.

rayinpenn

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
We were in the meeting when they said it. "we will be hiring 3 developers in Mumbai.... Two associates and a VP." There are rare times in life when it pays to be cozying up to retirement - this is one of those moments. (It also pays to have a sufficient pile to retire but that is always true.) My colleague spoke frankly with the boss.. "you've tried this before and one of these times your going to get it right.."

I am a developer, I work in what is now a friendly little team of 4 including me. Our work is primarily projects that last about 90 days from begging to end. Specification are minimal because we know the business far better than the staff. One colleague has 20 years in the business and the other 7. My gift is blazing new trails because I can be persuasive (truthfully I just don't take no for an answer) we are not busy all the time. We really don't need three new people.. they don't really use our products in India.

1 "The big boss has a number she needs to hit"
2 "We will just give them the easy stuff."

I am often perplexed just how to handle when someone delivers a load of BS to you - I mean with a straight face. "I see" seems to do it for me. I think it conveys that your bs ing me but I'm too smart to let you know what I'm thinking.

Colleague 1 is has lots of experience and 4 kids. He is a good fellow but he is also not as good on paper as the rest of us. I worry for him. Colleague 2 has more diverse experience and a better pedigree - she'll be fine. Colleague 3 is an awesome worker and is nearer my age then the rest and has one in college next fall. So colleagues 1 & 3 have the potential for an offshoring tragedy.

If they were to let me go tomorrow I'd get nearly a years severance. Can someone show me the way to the axe room.

It poses some interesting questions ... like do you train your replacement?