Diversification Versus Simplification

TromboneAl

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
When I rebalance, I'm considering consolidating some of our VG funds just to make things simpler.

For example, the Vanguard "Portfolio Watch" has nagged me into having two small-cap funds (Small-cap Growth, and Small-cap Value) with a total of about 5% of our net worth in them.

One option would be to eliminate those. The disadvantage is that we'd be less diversified (almost no small-cap). The advantage is that I'd have two less funds to track, download data from, enter tax data from, etc.

We currently have 14 VG funds, partly because we need to segregate funds in my IRA, Lena's IRA, my Roth, Lena's Roth, Taxable account and HSA.

Is it silly to give up the diversification just to save me a little effort?

Even tho this is my first year of consolidated retirement, I love the simplicity of dealing with only 4 funds.

Depends who you ask. If you ask me I would say I prefer simplification. Between our accounts at VG and FIDO we have 6 funds, plus IBonds with TreasuryDirect.

I am moving toward simplicity although I am in worse shape (more diversified) than you.
One motivation for me is will it be easy for DW if something happens to me? What are all of the moving parts and what do they mean?

I think small cap is a good place to start. Do you really get much portfolio diversity from a small cap index vs a general US market index? Not so much IMHO.

Al, 5% of your portfolio invested in a particular asset class isn't much diversification, therefore eliminating it wouldn't be significant in my opinion. I'm a simplification investor, with most of our assets in Wellington and Wellesley. All that slicing, dicing, and rebalancing stuff interferes with my daily nap. :D

When I rebalance, I'm considering consolidating some of our VG funds just to make things simpler.