Early Retirement Social Security reduction

TexasRider

Dryer sheet wannabe
Apologize if this is a standard question. I searched here and at SSA website - I swear I did.

How much is the reduction in SS benefits if I stop paying in at ER (54). I don't plan on taking benefits until 67 but if I retire at 54 I won't be paying in. I have been paying in for 35 years and have been maxing out the pay-in for the last 15 or so.

Thanks all

Not much. I stopped contributing after age 55, but I have 36 years and I believe the max anybody would get at 70 is $3500, I think I'm getting something like $3426, per SSA website estminate. I didn't look at age 67 because I don't intend to get my SS until 70.

Last edited:
The difference is probably much smaller than you think.

But go to the SS website and download their calculator. Plug in your earnings from each year and enter zero for the years after you stop earning. The calculator will give you a pretty accurate estimate.

Just one datapoint: I earned about the maximum for 23 years, with minimal (e.g, summer job) earnings for about 10 years before that, and retired at 51. My payout will be about 85% of the maxmimum.

I have been checking the SS website weekly to see if my account has been updated. Just filed 2016 a few weeks ago and it was the first ever without W2 income. Looking forward to getting actuals instead of an estimate. I did the estimate calculator years ago and came out with an estimate of 86.5% of what their current estimate was for me. Stopped paying in at 52.

I researched this in 2008

Apologize if this is a standard question. I searched here and at SSA website - I swear I did.

How much is the reduction in SS benefits if I stop paying in at ER (54). I don't plan on taking benefits until 67 but if I retire at 54 I won't be paying in. I have been paying in for 35 years and have been maxing out the pay-in for the last 15 or so.

Thanks all