Expense Tracking App

Katiek

Full time employment: Posting here.
I'm looking for an app that will help me track my spending, but nothing too elaborate. I read the recent thread about budgeting that talked about excel spreadsheets and software that downloaded directly from banks and credit cards and my head was spinning. I'll confess I'm not very technical and most spreadsheets are beyond my ability.

I'm looking for something very simple - i allocate an amount for monthly spending and assign it to various categories. As I spend over the month it decreases the amounts and shows me where I'm overspending and where I allocated too much. I've been doing this for some time with just a little notebook I carry with me and a larger notebook at home where I add up the categories. That could continue to work, but I thought a phone app where I could enter things in real time would be easier.

I looked around and You Need a Budget seemed relatively straightforward, but does anyone have any experience with that or a different app that would suit this very simple purpose? (Kind of a like a My Fitness Pal for spending. :))

My best friend uses an app on his Android phone named "Spending Tracker". He loves it. It lets him create his own categories. I don't know if there is a version of the iPhone, but I would guess there must be.

thank you for the suggestion. There does appear to be an iphone version!

I know Dave Ramsey can be a polarizing figure, but I do know that his org has a phone app called "Every Dollar" which sounds like it could meet your needs. You can use his app and not do anything else DR.

It's free for basic use. If you want transaction download from your bank capability I think it's a few bucks a month subscription fee.