How are you "Really" doing??

I am a contractor. None of my friends care.

I expect to say, I am unemployed, or, on vacation. Mostly, I don't plan to be where anyone thinks to ask.

I've posting the travel adventures and photographs on FaceBook constantly. I don't think there's any doubt in my friends' minds how retirement is really going.

Post: here's a photo of a mother grizzly and her two spring cubs in Denali. This is awesome.

Question: so how is retirement, really?

Answer: you really aren't paying attention, are you?

Lol

I've only been asked if I miss work. My emphatic answer to the negative is generally convincing enough.

Well, I do miss the people I worked with. I stay in touch with about a half dozen still, but I was there a long time and we had lots of fun (and ridiculous!) times. But I was not in a "Megacorp".

I do get that question, mostly from concerned parties. I'm young and have been "unemployed" for several years. No one looks at it as "retirement", not at my age. Of course no one has any idea that we are FI, a fact that I do not advertise. So when I say that I am enjoying myself and that I am happy, they just think that I am putting on a brave face.

I do get that question, mostly from concerned parties. I'm young and have been "unemployed" for several years. No one looks at it as "retirement", not at my age. Of course no one has any idea that we are FI, a fact that I do not advertise. So when I say that I am enjoying myself and that I am happy, they just think that I am putting on a brave face.
Interesting isn't it. When I tell people I retired "at the top of my game" from a high paying career at 57, some assume it's my euphemistic was of saying I was let go or laid off. I don't care what they think at all, but it's interesting how some folks think they "know better." :LOL: