How/Where/When to file/pay estimated taxes

merlin3942

Recycles dryer sheets
I've been FIRE'd for about 4 years now, and so far, have been living strictly off of after-tax savings. I now find myself needing to start withdrawing some funds from one of my retirement accounts. The institution where those accounts are held (TIAA) will automatically "withhold" both federal and state income taxes for me ... but it's unclear to me whether I still will need to start doing something about filing/paying "estimated income tax" quarterly? If so, exactly how do I start filing and making those payments? I've been using H&R Block Tax prep software for quite a few years, but I don't recall ever seeing anything in that program that deals with filing estimated taxes? How do others handle this issue? Any particular software recommendations to do e-filing?

If TIAA withholds appropriates taxes, you won't need to file estimated taxes. It's your responsibility that the amount TIAA withholds meets the IRS guidelines.

The super-easy way may work for you: Figure out your "safe harbor" taxes due. This is either your last year tax bill or 110% (IIRC) of the bill, depending on your income. Sometime in December, withdraw that amount from your IRA and specify 100% withholding. If you have state income taxes, verify that this will work and do the same. There is no need to estimate or calculate anything.

If you end up underpaid, you pay the balance with your return. Overpaid, apply to next year or ask to get it back.

The keys to this are (1) the safe harbor amount and (2) that withheld taxes are considered to have been paid over the full year, so no need to worry about paying quarterly, and (3) being able to pay the amount via withholding.