I feel STUPID! Really STUPID! :(

NW Landlady

Recycles dryer sheets
I have been lurking in this forum for the past week & U Peeps have amazing knowledge & ideas that I sooo wish I had checked out several years ago....:blush:

I feel really Stupid! Somehow I ended up on the Gerbil Wheel waaay too long & it won't be easy to get off of it for several years. Seems like someone encased the contraption in glass & I can't escape the wheel -- been running on it beyond my needs. :(

If retiring was as easy as giving notice to MegaCorp, I would gladly do it today, but unfortunately that is not the case. I am a business owner (Landlady) and I can't tell my boss to FOAD cause unfortunately I am the boss. :D

My stats are: Age 57, One SO/DP/DH who is ready to retire when he reaches 55 at MegaCorp next year. No kids - 2 pesky & adorable kitties. :)

I have about $300+K in mixed eq/munibonds/cash. This is actually miniscule compared with my Real Estate Equity, even in this down market. I own 6 apt bldgs that vary from 8 units to 36 units & 3 of them I own free & clear. I also own 3 SFH Rentals & a duplex - all free & clear. 3 of the Larger apt bldgs have Loans -- but still over 50% equity in them & good positve cash flow. DH keeps his assets/$$ separate and has between 700K and 900K depending on the Market in mixed mutual funds.

We co-own our house & the loan is paid off in 8 years, but we could pay it off tomorrow if it wasn't for the paltry tax deduction we get, we would!

To say the least, I feel really really really stupid because I am way beyond having enough money to retire on, but unwinding a RE portfolio shouldn't be done overnight due to tax ramifications (depreciation comes back as income--OUCH!-- Plus Cap Gains) & I was hoping there might be some knowledgeable Peeps in this Forum that have been there before & can give advice.:flowers: