making asset allocation changes

DEC-1982

Full time employment: Posting here.
I am new at this, and would like some advice/feedback.

Let's say I have this target asset allocation.
Stocks 60-65
Bonds 25-30
Cash 5-10

For simplicity, assume the stocks and bonds are all in a tax-deferred IRA. There should be little or no tax consequences for making changes.

If the stock % goes to 59.9 or lower, I would need to increase the stock allocation. Is this a time when people would make a change for my situation?

Do I then increase it to 62.5%, the middle of the band, or just some number in the 60-65 band?

I don't think there is any "right" way to do this. People seem to use whatever rules are convenient for them.

Some would say "I have a target allocation of 60/40. I don't re-balance until I'm off by at least 5 points (stocks below 55 or above 65) and then I jump back to 60/40."

Others would say "I have a target allocation of 60/40. I re-balance every [year, quarter, month] and jump back to the 60/40."

I suppose somebody could back test and say one or the other has been slightly better, but that result would probably be sensitive to the exact paths of prior returns that are unlikely to be repeated.

I'm not sure how cash fits into long term asset allocations.

I don't think there is any "right" way to do this. People seem to use whatever rules are convenient for them.

Some would say "I have a target allocation of 60/40. I don't re-balance until I'm off by at least 5 points (stocks below 55 or above 65) and then I jump back to 60/40."

Others would say "I have a target allocation of 60/40. I re-balance every [year, quarter, month] and jump back to the 60/40."

I suppose somebody could back test and say one or the other has been slightly better, but that result would probably be sensitive to the exact paths of prior returns that are unlikely to be repeated.

I'm not sure how cash fits into long term asset allocations.