Full time employment: Posting here.
Jan 2, 2006
Hi I'm MB,

I registered about a month ago so I decided it was about time to introduce myself.

About myself:  Age 48.  Have a DW, DD in HS and DS in MS.  Live in the SF Bay area and work for a mega-corp.

Regarding investing:  I basically dollar cost average into funds in both my before and after tax accounts (mostly index funds).  Simple and easy and even if you are smart enough to beat the market I doubt you can beat the return to work ratio.

Current allocation is about:

- 12% Small Cap
- 32% Large Cap
- 14% Int'l (Dev Markets)
- 5% Emerging Markets
- 29% Bonds
- 5% REITS
- 3% Cash

I generally keep it pretty steady.  Maybe move it +-5% or so depending on what I think is going to happen.

On ER:  I have been fairly good at LBYM and investing over the last 15 years or so (at least compared to the overall population) but ER wasn't really "on the radar" until I came across this forum.  I think I found it from intercst's site but don't remember how I stumbled on that site.  But I will admit that there are a lot of days when I would rather hop on my bike than go to work so maybe there is some RE hope for me.  I give Dory and the rest of you credit for "planting the seed."  I did mention RE to DW the other day but she thought that it was a joke.  Have to work on that.

Although my initial interests on this forum were mostly asset accumulation and FI, I have actually found the various RE lifestyles to be at least as interesting:

- Nords surfer life and ward-robe
- Kat's (sorry if I have the name wrong) farm in KY
- One poster (forgot the name) that lived and traveled in a van for most of the year
- The various other RV and PT lifestyles

About 5 years ago I told DW that when the kids were gone I wanted to quit work, throw my mountain bike on top of a camper van and not worry about coming back (I did assume that she would come with) and that futhermore since we had a pretty frugal lifestyle it wouldn't take much money to do it for a couple of years.

I think that this is the first place that I have found a group of like minded people.

Hope I didn't bore you with the long post.  I have truely enjoyed the forum so far and expect to continue to do so in the future.


Welcome MB! I'll take a pass on commenting on the financials (many people here have more expertise on that!)

Just want to say your plans sound great to me. And I want to let you know Kitty is the one with the terrific lifestyle in Kentucky. As for me, formerly Kat on this board --- I have a fondness for the mountains in New York and I'll likely spend the rest of my days here, at least as a home base.

Again, welcome!

I recall the comment on buying a couple of t-shirts, shorts and flip-flops and that being your yearly clothing budget. I thought that was pretty cool.
Top Bottom