Mutual fund redemption fee question

Luhar

Dryer sheet wannabe
I am fairly new to mutual fund investing (Roth IRA). Although I have done extensive research on many aspects of mutual funds I have a question I cannot seem to find an answer to. Many funds charge a redemption fee if the shares are sold within a certain time frame (we'll say 30 days for arguments sake). Here's a hypothetical situation to frame my question: I purchase one share in fund "X" today and then purchase another share of this fund a week later. Two weeks after I purchase the second share I sell my entire stake in the fund (31 days after I purchased the first share, but 14 days after I purchased the second share). Will I be charged the early redemption fee on the total value of my investment (i.e. both shares)? Or will I only be charged a redemption fee on the second share that I purchased since I sold within 30 days of purchase?

Just to be clear, I understand the redemption fee will also be charged on any accrued earnings and that mutual funds are not meant to be bought and sold in short time frames. It's just a nagging question that I would like to answer.

Thanks!

You would have to look at the details of the prospectus and possibly ask the fund company but I suspect the redemption fee would only be applied to purchase lots that have not been held for the required period.

Think of it this way. If someone buys $1m of a fund and holds it 10 years and then buys another $100k and then sells the entire $1.1m two weeks later, they would not apply a redemption fee to the entire $1.1m, just the $100k.

The early redemption fee is assessed against each share that has not met the minimum holding time.

From my experience with mutual funds, there are two rules for determining how and if sold shares are subject to an early redemption fee.