My first IRA withdrawal

The flying bug definatly threw things off, but I had plenty of cushion. And I probably won’t be flying 10-15 More years. And I can always sell the plane. .
I am confused, you bought a plane and do not plan on flying it for another 10 years:confused:?
Do you have it on leaseback? Or is it just sitting somewhere?
I have been flying since 1972, and strongly suggest you get your license now. You cannot predict if you come down with some disqualifying illness or handicap in 10-15 years..

Boy can I relate. Tomorrow is my last day, and I have some cash and a pension to get us by until 2019. I am dreading pushing that button next year!!!

I am confused, you bought a plane and do not plan on flying it for another 10 years:confused:?
I have been flying since 1972, and strongly suggest you get your license now. You cannot predict if you come down with some disqualifying illness or handicap in 10-15 years..
The OP has been flying his plane.

And I think that same as you, he is not sure he will be flying in 10-15 years.

I fly about 75-100 hours a year. I’m 61 now and not sure how many years till my health or mind keep me from flying.

I fly about 75-100 hours a year. I’m 61 now and not sure how many years till my health or mind keep me from flying.
Thank you for clearing that up. I just joined the United Flying Octogenarians, along with Barry Schiff..
I just passed my flight review and my physical.
Have you looked into flying for Angel Flight Southeast? Is a very rewarding experience. www.angelflightse.org.
I am a member of Angel Flight West, flying patients to and from their appointments.

Last edited:
You could always feel good that you made the withdrawal while the market is still up!

You could always feel good that you made the withdrawal while the market is still up!

I took it out of the money market account. It was earning a little over 2%. Im around 60 % stocks. I was at 55% but the market has adjusted. I probably should adjust a little.

Hey