New to the 4% rule and how to make adjustments

nicgius14

Confused about dryer sheets
Hello All,

This is my first post here and I am also new to the whole 4% withdrawal method that have learned from listening to various podcasts.

I understand that, simply put to calculate the amount required to reach financial independence is your yearly expenses multiplied by 25, once you have that you can start applying the 4% withdrawal rule.

In my case, let's say my current yearly expenses are 60,000, this time 25 = 1,500,000
However, I own an apartment in the city center being rented out, which brings 18,000 a year and is currently valued at 550,000

How do I adjust everything? Do I need less than 1,500,000 or do I then withdraw 60,000 less 18,000 per year but keep the 1,500,000 as is? Or either way would reach the same outcome?

I am trying to put everything in an Excel tracker and I am a little confused.

Much appreciate any suggestions you may have for me.

Thanks a lot
Nic

The 4% rule is really just a rough rule of thumb planning tool. It is also for 30 years of retirement.

E = Expenses have to include everything including taxes and health insurance.
O = other income streams that are not from your retirement portfolio (SS, rentals, pension, ...)
I = income from your retirement portfolio (dividends, selling shares, ...)

E - O = I

25 x I = nestegg at retirement for a 30 year retirement

That is the rule of thumb.

In reality, I is rarely constant because E and O are not constant. For mental accounting, the 4% rule of thumb is fine, but when you get closer to retirement, you will want to use tools that take more variables into account.

As imjustawarrior noted, the 4% rule is a very rough guide and based on a 30 year retirement - noted because a lotta folks on this board retire real young [which requires greater conservatism]. Consequently, FIRE folks seem to prefer FIRECalc as the favored tool.