One-time-only Welcome to Medicare visit mandatory? My insurance co says it is.

John Galt III

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I am new to Medicare, and am scheduling my yearly physical. I called up my insurance co, Capital Blue Cross, to make sure what was covered, and what was the minimum I needed to do. The rep said the 'Welcome to Medicare' thing with all the forms and revealing parents' and siblings' health issues, was mandatory, and that I could be penalized and possibly kicked off Medicare if I did not have the 'Welcome to Medicare' visit done, which sounds pretty bizarre. What incentive would Cap Blue Cross have for me to get the 'Welcome to Medicare' stuff done? More medical info about me and my family members, and reasons to deny coverage? I looked online and one website said no, it is NOT mandatory. I sort of want to give them the least information I can. I made an appointment with my doctor for a welcome to medicare visit, but am thinking of calling him back and changing it to just a plain old minimal 'wellness visit'. Any input appreciated!!

I made an appointment with my doctor for a welcome to medicare visit, but am thinking of calling him back and changing it to just a plain old minimal 'wellness visit'. Any input appreciated!!

I can assure you that the "Welcome to Medicare" wellness visit is indeed minimal.

And nothing about it is mandatory, so you can relax.

The rep said the 'Welcome to Medicare' thing with all the forms and revealing parents' and siblings' health issues, was mandatory, and that I could be penalized and possibly kicked off Medicare if I did not have the 'Welcome to Medicare' visit done...

Balderdash and poppycock, not to mention hooey.

"Capital Blue Cross"
sounds like Medicare Advantage and not Medicare?

"Capital Blue Cross"
sounds like Medicare Advantage and not Medicare?