Planning for retirement

rafapark

Dryer sheet wannabe
Hello:
This is the first time I post in this forum so please be patient with me. I am no expert at all. This forum is helping me a great deal as well as all the books I’ve been reading. I have a question for the experts here. I will be retiring in the next 3 years. I have estimated that by the time I retire, I’ll need to withdraw about 2.1% of my investments to meet my needs ( Fire confirms this will work). Based on my calculations, a 70% bond/cash, 30 stock portfolio split would meet this need with a low level of risk. As per my estimates the tax sheltered portion of my portfolio would be 43% and the non sheltered one would be 57%. I know the rule about allocating your tax inefficient investments in sheltered accounts and the tax efficient stock investments in non sheltered accounts. But if you are retired and want to live off your dividends, wouldn’t the other way be better? I can hopefully get a 3.7% yield from my non sheltered account (to get the equivalent 2.1% of the total portfolio) by investing in bonds, REITs and dividend MFs and invest the sheltered account on stocks and other investments ( as appropiate to keep the above mentioned allocation) so they can grow tax deferred. In other words, live from dividends from the non sheltered investments without touching the principal as much as possible and let the sheltered portion grow untouched for as long as possible. It seems to me that in my situation, this would be the preferred approach. Any thoughts on this?

Welcome to the board. Bond interest is taxed at ordinary income rates, while qualified dividends from stocks are taxed at a lower rate. Thus even if you do not sell the bonds or stocks, your tax bill will be lower if you generally shift bonds into tax-favored accounts like an IRA.

To expand a bit on GrayHare's comment, consider this: