Platelet-rich plasma (PRP) injections

Montecfo

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
I have end stage osteoarthritis in one of my ankles. An ankle replacement is indicated, but the operation is much more challenging than other joints. I understand the success rate is 60-70 percent which seems pretty low. Failed ankle replacements can be redone, but you begin to be on a path toward fusion of the ankle, which means there is no longer a joint there. This can effect the gait and hasten knee and foot arthritis, which is not exactly clear sailing for me as it is.

I have been considering this for probably 10 years. Over that time I have gradually had ankle pain increase, range of motion decline, and had to curtail activities (no running, hoops or other cutting sports). Can still bike, hike, walk, and ski but there is more pain/swelling post.

As an interim measure, I'm considering one or more injections of platelet-rich plasma (PRP). Essentially the injection source comes from your own blood which they centrifuge to isolate the platelets and then inject them using a sonogram monitor into the joint. The idea is to stimulate your body's own healing/repair capabilities to improve joint function. It requires a couple of weeks of down time.

This procedure is more commonly done for knees and hips, and I'm curious how many folks have utilized it, and how successfully.

Thanks!

Either I misunderstand the science or its hokum.

Platelets only function, as I understand it, is to help blood clot. And you generally don't want your blood clotting unless it's in the context of a cut/abrasion/bruise/similar. Blood clotting inside the circulatory system is a bad thing.

And taking the platelets out of your body and injecting them into a specific spot seems suspect to me as well. Your body already naturally has a thing called a circulatory system that your platelets flow through and that goes to every cell in your body.