poor economy hitting close to home

simple girl

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Site Team
A few days ago a received a letter from my company saying that some changes in payments from Medicare have impacted the bottom line (I work in healthcare) and that they need to implement cost savings measures. The changes include delaying when new employees can accrue time off and begin participating in benefits plans. Another change is they will be reducing the match to 25 cents on the dollar for 401K contributions. I thought our company was pretty recession-proof, so this was a little wake-up call.

Then, yesterday, my brother called me to tell me he was laid off. He works in the trucking business. His wife was laid off last year in May and has yet to find a job. Her unemployment runs out in July. My brother gets 2 months severance and company pd Cobra; after that the company will pay a portion of Cobra for a while. He will also be on unemployment. He said he was going to wait a few days to let it all sink in, and then wants to talk to me about whether to touch his 401k or not. He doesn't have an emergency fund. The 401K isn't huge (around $30K). It is so difficult to see him in this situation, and I can't help but feel guilty for having our financial situation be so much better and secure. <sigh> I know it's not my fault, but it's just so hard to see him struggling. He's a good guy, and I love him.

I don't really have any questions for the group, yet, but I may as I help him problem solve how to manage this situation. Right now, I'm just doing a little venting!

You said he "works in the trucking business" - does that mean he's a truck driver? If so, and if he's willing to move, trucking companies are always advertising around here that they need drivers. It's not an easy life but it does pay about $50k/year, more for the long-haul drivers.

Some people enjoy long-distance driving as they see it as "the company is paying me to tour the country!"