Post-Retirement Struggles for Someone Who Should have None

Sittler27

Dryer sheet wannabe
Hey everyone,

I'm a 51 year old father of two teenagers (17/15) and husband to my beautiful wife (50).
My wife has been retired for about 4 years now, but I stepped away from a 27 year career in the fairly lucrative corporate meeting-after-meeting world in Feb 2020, unbeknownst to me about a month before COVID lockdowns began.

I was an IT best practice consultant pimping myself out to large Canadian corporations and enduring meeting after relentless meeting of gibberish.
I couldn't take the relentless demands and workloads anymore, so my plan at the time was to take "a few months off" to recalibrate myself to a career change towards something more hands-on (but entirely less lucrative).

With COVID lockdowns though, I really haven't gone back to anything job-related and will say I am pretty much fully retired at this point apart from running a personal mortgage business that takes up <4hrs of my time/week.

In a way I've kind of used COVID as an excuse to not go back to some kind of steady work, but on the other hand I really have no financial need to go back either.
A few years ago there was a sharing of wealth from my parents. This sharing came in the form of half of their wealth ($2MM+) by way of a mortgage lending business my father ran (even up to the age of his death this past January. He was 91).
Further to that, since his death, all of the remaining mortgage business he continued to run has also passed to me (another $2MM).

So in summary, while I consider myself to be fully retired at 51, I still earn an after-tax (NET) annual interest income of $200K+ (Canadian).
My monthly gross income is $34K and my monthly expenses are $25K. This includes all income tax payable, etc., leaving me with ~$8-9K savings/month, which over time I lend out again as mortgages earning higher and higher interest income.