pushing out retirement to help kids with college

There's a lot of good discussion here on college and leading for it. But I'm interested in the assumption that retiring is the only way to deal with your health issues.

A standing or treadmill desk, regular walk breaks at work, seeing if there are commuting options available and exploring stress-relieving methods that don't involve alcohol may address your work issues sufficiently so that another couple of years is doable. (And the alcohol issue is one worth dealing with right now, regardless. That's a choice you're making, not a mandatory response to work stress).

I'm sure there are many approaches that might improve your current life short of retiring early.

Btw, I have a degree in Environmental Science and now work a challenging and interesting job as a regulator. My parents helped with my state school expenses. Between that, scholarships and work I graduated without debt. It was one of the best gifts I could have gotten from them.

I teach at a community college as a side gig. I see how many of my most capable students struggle because they have little to no family support. Nearly all of my students work part-time. The ones who are really on their own face significant barriers to success.

I teach at a community college as a side gig. I see how many of my most capable students struggle because they have little to no family support. Nearly all of my students work part-time. The ones who are really on their own face significant barriers to success.

I see this also with some of my young coworkers on the river. Those with parents who are unable or unwilling to support them after high school have a tough time. A little financial support combined with boundless emotional support can go a long way.

To the OP if still listening.