Putting Vanguard funds into Money Market (VMRXX)

Youngblood

Recycles dryer sheets
Has anyone on this site that uses Vanguard put their funds into money market fund VMRXX or anything similar to it to minimize risk in a volatile market? Also, would transferring my funds to this fund at the age of 44 cause any tax issues?

I have never tried to time the market before and I normally just ride out the waves with the good and the bad. With that said, I would like to explore the possibilities of protecting all or some of my portfolio for the short term (3-4 months). I have a Roth IRA (13.5% of portfolio), 401K (84.5% of portfolio) and taxable (2%) funds in Vanguard. So if I decided to do this (still a big if), would it make more sense to just use my taxable account, or in theory just move all my funds to a money market or something even more safe in vanguard?

I understand the impact on missing out on any growth as a risk, but are there any other risks that I should consider?

Anything that happens inside of an IRA or 401K doesn't matter, except in cases of wash sales. Selling/exchanging a fund in taxable is a taxable event. I don't try to time the market, but if I did, I would avoid doing it in taxable if I had to pay much in taxes. But limiting it to 2% sounds reasonable.

I have used Vanguard’s VMFXX Money Market fund in the past to hold funds. So, yes to answer the OPs question. I don’t currently, as I moved those funds to an Ally Bank savings account to earn a little more interest. But I’ve had as high as $150,000 in the money market fund.

In a taxable account, there would be a taxable event if you had capital gains if you sold something with a profit to buy the money market fund. Afterwards, you will have to pay taxes on the monthly dividends from the money market fund. The are not paying much each month, but it is still taxable.

In a 401k or IRA there isn’t a tax event until you withdraw something. Roth has no tax implications.