Recommendations for a fast Android Tablet

ShokWaveRider

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
DW wants to get rid of her iPad and move to Android. It is our only iOS device and I cannot wait to dump it.

10" - 12" Samsung's S6 and S7 are ~$500. (64gb- 128gb) That seems pretty OTT for us.

Amazon Fire Tablets are too limited. We do not want to be locked into an ecosystem. (Hence our aversion to iOS)

Is there a FAST Android Tablet that costs around ~$300 or so. I looked at the Lenovo M10 but it is 3 times slower than the S7 and has a way inferior screen.

I am not a Tablet expert so any advice would be appreciated.

You might want to check out this article for some recommendations. https://www.pcmag.com/picks/the-best-android-tablets

I have an old Samsung Galaxy Tab that I need to upgrade due to major battery issues. Samsung makes really good tablets, but I have been disappointed in their limited support for Android OS upgrades and their (IMHO) poor battery performance. I definitely will be looking at other vendors, especially considering that Samsung seems to be the "premium/luxury" brand in the Android world.

Is there a FAST Android Tablet that costs around ~$300 or so. I looked at the Lenovo M10 but it is 3 times slower than the S7 and has a way inferior screen.

In addition to my comments above, I would remind you of that old, time-tested adage: good, fast, cheap... pick any two.

You probably won't find a cheap, fast Android tablet that also has a large, high-quality screen. If you don't want to spend over $300, you will have to live with a device that is lacking in one area.

DW wants to get rid of her iPad and move to Android. It is our only iOS device and I cannot wait to dump it.

10" - 12" Samsung's S6 and S7 are ~$500. (64gb- 128gb) That seems pretty OTT for us.

Amazon Fire Tablets are too limited. We do not want to be locked into an ecosystem. (Hence our aversion to iOS)