Roth conversion to pay Income Tax

bada bing

Full time employment: Posting here.
I'm getting ready to make my annual Roth conversion tomorrow.
I also may have not paid enough estimated taxes to cover my required withholding on total income for 2022, as I had some lumpy income and was lazy/distracted. I know that tax withholding from a Roth conversion count as paid on time for general withholding, so I can bump up the voluntary conversion withholding to cover my anticipated total withholding requirement. My question is: Can I recompensate from taxable money outside retirement accounts to my Roth IRA for the amount diverted from the conversion for taxes ? I believe I read something about doing this in the last few years, but my Google search isn't bringing up the relevant info. The reason for doing this is to avoid potential late/underpayment of estimated taxes.

Anyone know ?

I am not a lawyer, but have never heard of it, surely somebody would have thought of that by now. I believe your contribution to your Roth from taxable would be an excess contribution and would be subject to a 6% penalty each year until it is corrected.

Yes, you would put the money paid in taxes back in your taxable IRA, not into your Roth.

Yes, you would put the money paid in taxes back in your taxable IRA, not into your Roth.

Yes, thank you. The recent thread on this went unnoticed by me until today. I read it and it refreshed my memory. I was sort of hoping I could put the withheld tax into the Roth, rather than the taxable, but I can see why that's probably a no go. I'll be doing a withholding withdrawal round trip from my IRA this week. I'll post any snafus in the other thread, should they happen.

There ought to be a cute name assigned to this maneuver, like the "backdoor Roth". I propose "IRA withholding boomerang" as a potential name.:cool: