Seeking advice for teaching

HF63

Recycles dryer sheets
I hope that we have some teacher's on this board and will like to share your teaching experiences.

Can share some of your thoughts regarding your experience as a teacher or professor. What is it that you like about the current system and if given a magic stick what will you change.

I was a real bad student when I was young and really hated school and memorizing all that stuff just for test.

I was basically a real late bloomer and started to like school when I came upon the military teaching way. The students are thought in class room, follow by a field exercise in which students must apply the concept, follow by a review.

Please share some of your thoughts, I am getting ready to open a teaching lab as my main hobby once I retire.:D

As someone that has been teaching for quite some time, there are a few beliefs that I have about the educational system. The main one being that kids today are not that much different than kids 20 years ago when I started. Kids are looking for 4 main things from teachers. #1... that you know your subject matter, #2... that you give effort in and out of the classroom (grade stuff/return emails in a timely manner, be prepared, etc...) if you expect them to give effort., #3... that you make the class "entertaining" and educational at the same time, and #4... that you realize students have lives outside of your classroom and express genuine concern when they approach you regarding something that may be going on in their lives. If you do those 4 things, you will be an effective teacher and most students (regardless of socioeconomic status, age, or the methods you use to try to educate them) will benefit from having had you as a teacher.