Speculative investments?

97guns

Full time employment: Posting here.
I know speculation can be subjective and it’s probably not a good idea to carry too many speculative investments into retirement but I’m just curious if you have any. Money that won’t hurt you or you really could care less if you were to lose 100% of it, curious because I just threw 4% of my net worth to what I consider high risk securities, high yielding dividend REITs and ETFs that are yielding double digits or very close, its generating close to $1000 a month added income

I have in fact done this. I have 6% in a UBS 2X fund. But it is in an investment area which I have some knowledge. I would not do this just based on yield and attractive price alone.

An example would be AMZA, which is trading at what I believe to be an attractive NAV. The yield is 24%. But I do not understand how it makes its money or the companies it invests in, so I do not invest in it. But if someone understands it, and wanted to put small amount in, hey it's their money, it's their decision.

Last edited:
I had AMZA but didn’t like the price action on it so I cut my $200 loss after collecting a $520 dividend payment, I have a few paying 21%

So you are getting 17% annual divs from these? That would tell me they are risky, and you are likely to lose significant amount of the investment over time.

But if it is a small number, who knows how the odds may play out - like you say, 'speculative'. Personally, I plan to live long enough that speculative plays would just average out over time, and I don't believe they can be reasonably counted on to be positive over time. So I just stick to my broad based AA. But have fun and good luck!

-ERD50

I was very proud of my 15% dividend payment in Seadrill. It seemed like easy money.

Very little, but I do some.
I invested 2.5% of my portfolio years ago into a company because I liked the product, and fully supported the goals of the company.