SS Benefits Claim Error - trying to help a friend

Amethyst

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
I'm trying to help a friend who is having issues with Social Security. Unfortunately, I don't qualify for SS so I have no experience to draw upon - but you all have tons, so I'm turning to you.

In October 2022, he applied for benefits, and started receiving them in January 2023. He had calculated everything down to the dollar, using SSA's earning record, and factoring in the 2023 8.7% COLA.

When his first deposit arrived, it contained only a 7.7% increase, about $50 less than he'd been expecting.

Assuming SSA would "catch up" with him in a month or so, he waited until March to go to the local SS office. (This was a walk-in, not an appointment, so he believes no records were kept). All told, he explained the matter to 4 people. He found them strangely unable/unwilling to help - a lot of hemming and hawing and "what do you think about this, Joe," and left with his issue unresolved. Nobody took ownership and promised to get a final answer. I was perturbed to hear of such careless customer "service," since it's these people's job to ensure everyone gets the benefits they are entitled to under law.

Today he informed me that he called SSA's benefits claims # and was told that because he'd waited more than 2 months to complain after first noticing a discrepancy, he was basically out of luck. They did direct him to benefits.application@ssa.gov where he filed a request for review, but he has little hope of resolution.

I just find it hard to believe that he is out of luck. As for his own calculations, he is much better at arithmetic than I am, so I feel his numbers were very likely correct - especially since the underpayment turned out to be exactly 1 per cent shy of what he'd been expecting.

What do you all think? Is he being mistreated? Is he out of luck?

Thanks,

Amethyst