State Bk India New York NY 3.4% CD

almost there

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
While looking at CD options at Vanguard, I see a 3.4% 10 yr CD.
"State Bk India New York NY CD 3.4%24"
Its insured by the FDIC, but State bank of India?
Is it as safe as any CD as its insured by the FDIC?
Or something to avoid? High risk CD? LOL LOL
Thoughts?

Plan to set up a CD ladder and this one stands out..........

Interesting. I'm still learning about the brokered CDs. I do allocate some funds to CD ladders, so it'd seem more convenient to do it all in my vanguard account.

I called the FDIC and talked for about 20 minutes. Its solid.
Fully insured to 250k no problem.
Been in the USA since 1971 no problem. And if there is an issue its covered by the FDIC in a couple days. Looks pretty good! Am pleasantly surprised.

FDIC insured is FDIC insured. I don't like a 10 year term on a brokered CD because if rates spike you have take the beating instead of just surrendering for whatever the penalty is on a non-brokered CD. YMMV.

There's no way I'd buy a brokered CD with a 10 year term. When rates go up, the value of that thing will plummet and, unlike a CD bought straight from the bank, you can't get out of it and just accept the early withdrawal penalty. You've got to sell it (at a big hit) or hold it to maturity (earning maybe several points less interest for many years).

I think a far better bet would be a CD bought straight from the issuer that has a reasonable early withdrawal penalty. If interest rates go through the roof, you've got a relatively low-cost escape option. A penalty of 180 days of interest ain't much at the present low rates.

Edited to add: Ooops, I cross posted with Brewer. What he said.

So you don't think a laddered approach is the way to go?
Say $40k each in a 1/2/5/7/10

Last edited: