Tax question - Cost basis on gifted stock

Steelart99

Recycles dryer sheets
This is my first year retired and first year on ACA.

I'm trying to get a handle on my taxes for next year and have to control where I take income since the ACA is based on MAGI. I plan to sell some stock and as I understand it, the long term capital gains is the amount used for MAGI.

Now, the issue is that the stocks were gifted to me. As I understand it, the LTCG's would be the sale price minus the cost basis of the person who gifted it to me.

But ... I want to sell the reinvested dividends first (using Specific ID's).

The question is, do I have to used the cost basis from the giftor for the reinvested dividends, or do I use the purchase cost at the time that the dividends were reinvested?

Last edited:
First note that the tax law may change the answer for next year. But for your issue this year, If you sell based on specific shares you use the basis for the shares actually sold. It really doesn't make a lot of difference if the shares were bought with dividends or other money. It is a matter of date and price paid.

Now you say you only have to consider LTCGs, wrong. For taxes and the ACA you need to consider LTCG/L, STCG/L and dividends. Both gains and losses can change your MAGI. But losses can offset gains, but can offset other income up to 3k when filing jointly.

Even if dividends are taxed at 0%, they still contribute to MAGI.

First note that the tax law may change the answer for next year. But for your issue this year, If you sell based on specific shares you use the basis for the shares actually sold. It really doesn't make a lot of difference if the shares were bought with dividends or other money. It is a matter of date and price paid.