Taxable account investing

aaronc879

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
I have very little experience investing in after tax accounts. I am planning to start putting at least $1000/mo into a Vanguard taxable account and have a couple questions. I want to keep it fairly simple. I will probably invest 80 or 90% in VOO or VTI(equities) and the rest in BND(bonds). I can switch back and forth between VOO and VTI without any penalties because they are not identical funds, correct? What fund is most similar to BND that I could switch to for bonds? Any dividends or LT capital gains are not taxed unless they put me above the 12% tax bracket, right? So I could just contribute enough to my 401K to keep me under $51,000(single)? Any tips? Thanks

Do not let the tax tail wag the investment dog. Reducing your retirement savings in order to save a few tax dollars strikes me as a very bad idea. Be sure to run all the numbers before making such a decision.

Re funds, VOO is only the S&P 500 and hence is really a sector bet. VTI is the whole US market, but still a sector bet because it includes no non-US equities. Here is a worthwhile video: https://famafrench.dimensional.com/videos/home-bias.aspx by one of the top dogs in the world of investments.

Do not let the tax tail wag the investment dog. Reducing your retirement savings in order to save a few tax dollars strikes me as a very bad idea. Be sure to run all the numbers before making such a decision.

Not sure what you mean by this. Both the 401K and the taxable account are retirement savings. I would contribute enough to my 401K to stay in the 12% bracket but no more since the funds in my 401K are not good at all. Then I would contribute to a ROTH IRA, then anything left over would go to the taxable account.

I think you have overly simplified some of this.
I can switch back and forth between VOO and VTI without any penalties because they are not identical funds, correct?