Thoughts on New Merrill Edge IRA and Fixed Income Choices

Healthy Lifestyle

Recycles dryer sheets
I recently retired (age 66) and in the process of transferring my Merrill 401K account to Merrill Edge (ME) Traditional and Roth IRA's.

I hope it was/is a good choice only for the ease of transfer to the IRA side, where I can have more control and fund choices.

I generally follow the Boglehead approach to investing in retirement and am a self-directed investor.

I would like to position myself initially as a 40 or 50% Equity index ETF funds holder (VTI comes to mind), maybe some international (VXUS?).

My decision is unclear on what to do with the Fixed Income portion in either bonds or CD's, etc. Any of these currently will be better than my old Stable Value fund..

Total Bond Market (BND) is always discussed, but I am not excited about that at the moment.

There are some ME money market funds available yielding ~4.4% (TTTXX) but don't know much about them?

I am new to ME and learning as I go, so I would greatly appreciate the groups comments and suggestions if you so choose.

Thank you!

We are Bank of America lifers, on the bank side and the investment side. Our taxable brokerage and IRA's are Merrill Edge accounts. I like the dashboard and the interface between the bank side and ME side. I do have one complaint. The individual bond offerings (as opposed to bond funds), I found to be inferior. Too few options. Higher prices/lower yields on comparable instruments. I finally opened a brokerage account at Fidelity and moved our taxable fixed income money out of ME to Fido. I've been happy there. I think Schwab would work as well. Good luck.

We are Bank of America lifers, on the bank side and the investment side. Our taxable brokerage and IRA's are Merrill Edge accounts. I like the dashboard and the interface between the bank side and ME side.

Thank you Golden Sunsets for your comments.
As a new Merrill Edge IRA holder, I may place 50 or 60% in fixed income.