Thoughts on wood product companies? BCC?

Fermion

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
The prices of OSB is $40 to $48 a sheet now in my area. 3/4" CDX is $58 a sheet.

Tree prices have not gone up that much....maybe $50 per 1000 bdft for douglas fir in the past year.

So....I am thinking something like Boise Cascade is going to be making bank this year.

Obviously I am not the first to think this as the shares have gone from $20 to $60 but the company looks fairly good still.

Not much net debt.

I would like it better at $45 though...maybe if we get an interest rate spike...

I walked through a home improvement lumber section last week and noticed the prices were really high for OSB, Plywood, 2x4s, 2x6s, etc. Poplar and oak dimensioned lumber was crazy high!!

I am a hobby woodworker. I bought some air-dried white oak, walnut, 2x4s (SYP), and poplar a month ago and the prices I paid were substantially lower than those in the BORG. The prices were higher than I paid 5 years ago but not by much. This lumber is rough cut but much higher quality than Borg lumber.

Are the higher prices due to depletion of the core lumber sources (trees) or because of supply shortage related to Covid impacts? ie, are the bottlenecks in tree availability (trees dying due to beetles/acid rain, etc), tree cutting, log removal/transport to manufacturers, manufacturing process shortage of other raw materials needed to produce the finished product?

This makes me wonder if the price-jacking is temporary. Not saying I couldn't make some money on it, just feels like I would be getting in on the tail-end.

I have always been good at jumping in just before the tide falls.

I walked through a home improvement lumber section last week and noticed the prices were really high for OSB, Plywood, 2x4s, 2x6s, etc. Poplar and oak dimensioned lumber was crazy high!!