Tough Company for ER

Status
Not open for further replies.
Wow. Unless the employee receiving this message is in a position that involves the use of his vehicle for company business, this is wildly out of line. If he's a realtor that drives clients around to showings, for example, the appearance of his vehicle is a legit concern for the company. But if he just drives it to and from the office, it is absolutely none of their business what he chooses to drive.

Years ago, I actually had a patient question me about my car. He said I'm a doctor so surely I could afford something newer and nicer than what I was driving (an old Camry, probably 10+ years old at that point). I told him it drove fine and that wasn't where I chose to spend my money but thanks for the concern.

Exhibit A - for unemployment benefits.

Fired for failure to use one of bosses' dealerships to buy new car . . .

(Have to wonder if there is a kickback involved.)

Yes, I have driven beaters to work. I have even received suggestions that I buy/ finance a new vehicle, which I immediately shot down. (That was simply none of their business.)

Made me look:

"Given that the original poster did not provide any verifiable details and was unlikely to do so, there was no way to determine whether a company’s HR department emailed an employee about their 2005 Toyota and pressured him to unnecessarily purchase a new vehicle. As others noted, it seemed possible but perhaps not plausible a company would commit such an ethically dubious request to writing."
https://www.truthorfiction.com/we-h...of-your-vehicle-viral-human-resources-letter/

This come from r/antiwork? Cause it's right up their alley.

I do recall a major employer in the KC area that wouldn't mind saying things like that to their employees.

Last edited:
This is a good lesson in two rules:

A) ER.org posts should not contain naked links, rather, include enough info in your post so others don't have to click the link to get the idea of the thread

and,