TSP and Vanguard

chonga

Dryer sheet wannabe
Hello All - My 24 yo son just got his first job as a civilian fed employee. I am just learning about the TSP as I try to guide him in starting early in investing and retirement planning.

I already advised him to contribute 5% to get the max employer match of 5%. He wants to contribute more but I am not sure if he should increase his contribution in the TSP or invest more outside like in Vanguard where I am more familiar with.

Also, since he is young, I advised him to invest in the C fund following the S&P 500.

I would appreciate your thoughts on increasing his contribution in the TSP or do a combination with Vanguard please. Thanks in advance!

TSP is very low cost. I do a combination of the C, S, and I funds. TSP also has lifecycle funds.

Can’t offer advice to your question, sorry. But I am curious what type of work and with what agency your son snagged his job with? I kinda wish my DS could get a fed job. Thx.

Both the TSP and Vanguard offer very low cost investing options, so he can do fine in either case.

An IRA or Roth IRA (which is what his Vanguard account would likely be) does offer some differences from a 401k (which is what his TSP amounts to). The TSP has historically lacked some of the withdrawal flexibility that any IRA has, but recent changes in the TSP have addressed some of these issues.

If he expects his marginal tax rate now to be less than he'll experience in retirement, then he might want to open a Roth IRA with Vanguard and make his contributions (above the TSP match level) there. This could give him more flexibility in devising a tax-efficient withdrawal strategy when he takes the money out.