Vault or no vault?

rayinpenn

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
It must be a metropolitan NY thing... Every night when it gets dark we close every curtain. And there are curtains and "shears" on every window. The bogeyman can't see in and I can't see out.
Until around midnight the LED landscaping and walkway lights keep Bali High Well illuminated. I check the doors and locks and I turn on the alarm. After walking the pooch (she's a big 70lbs.) in the morning i reverse the process and I open up our yurt. I open every curtain the Mrs would leave the shears (see thru light colored curtains) drawn.

One night about 4am the dog is barking and making quite the fuss. I can't see out. I'm not the scared type I worked as a night watchman. I head downstairs and plop myself into my easy chair. That's when I hear it- an ungodly screaming - even though I know it is a fox (I'm still thinking walking dead) no point in going out there anyway? Right? right?

If i go to bed early and we happen to have the back slider open she closes it...I giggle.

Anyway do you vault up at night?

Sent from my iPad using Early Retirement Forumh

Last edited:
My upstairs condo overlooks a rural landscape. I don't need, or have, any drapes. In fact I usually have the blinds rolled up so I can wake with the dawn.

Yes, I lock the door. But the windows are open.

Last edited:
It must be a metropolitan NY thing... Every night when it gets dark we close every curtain. And there are curtains and "shears" on every window. The bogeyman can't see in and I can't see out.
Until around midnight the LED? landscaping and walkway lights keep Bali High Well illuminated. I check the doors and locks and I turn on the alarm. After walking the pooch (she's a big 70lbs.) in the morning i reverse the process and I open up our yurt. I open every curtain the Mrs would leave the shears (see thru light colored curtains) drawn.