ER after child support

Blackhills_Bob

Confused about dryer sheets
Greetings
Has anyone else managed to ER after enduring long term child support or managed your ER accumulation in less than 10 years.

I have been in ER for a year, and the wife for 3 months.
I have been enjoying your posts for several months and have learned much from you. YMOYL got me started on this journey but your posts have provided much of the ammo to give the wife the courage to jump in with me.
We are both having the time of our lives. Is anyone else crazy enough to ER with horses?

Well, I didn't have long term child support, but I was
still paying when I quit completely. Then, my youngest
chose a very expensive private school and I found myself back in court to see how much more could be
extorted. That battle is still being waged as I type.
As far as doing it with less than 10 years prep., I did it with virtually no prep. but with a lot of luck. However,
even I didn't have the guts to retire as a horse owner.
Four (4) dogs is our limit :)

Seriously, I cut back pretty severely while I was still
paying child support (cheap apartment, etc), which I thought was fair
and of course I agree with the concept of supporting
your minor children. Picking a high-priced college
without consulting me and then hauling me into
court to squeeze my wallet kind of got my hackles up.

John Galt

I don't think that horses are compatible with ER.

Our kid rides dressage and since she appears to have some talent for it, we're starting our fourth year of it. (This must be a major mutation on the family gene pool.) The only way this will end is when our kid moves out and has to support her own horse habit. We don't even OWN a freaking horse or tack but when you add up lessons, clinics, shows, boots, trailering, and membership fees, the cost of this "sport" ranks right up there with our grocery bill.