Hello from SF Bay Area! Dreaming of early retirement!

ken830

Recycles dryer sheets
Hi guys! I'm fairly new to the whole concept of early retirement, so some strategies, terminology, and acronyms confuse me. My parents worked so hard to give me every advantage in life. I got an education and have been lucky with always being employed and working towards a good career. I was loyal to my career and never expected or dreamed of early retirement. I just assumed I would work into my 60's. But then my first child was born. All of sudden, my priorities flipped. I now see work more like a means of providing for my family. I'd much rather spend time with my family over anything else. I know I can't retire right this moment to spend these pre-school-age years at home with my kids. but I will take whatever I can get. If I start planning now, I might make it before they're out of the house completely.

I'm planning to just do a lot of reading to see what others are doing, pick up some new ideas, and get a bit of encouragement. Right now, I don't have any specific questions per say, but what led me to this forum was a Google search. I was looking for suggestions of what to do because our combined income is over $200k/year before deductions and we can no longer contribute to our Roth IRA or deduct IRA contributions.

Welcome to the forum ken830. You will find many persons here that will give you lots of great advice and encouragement. Look forward to hearing from you again soon.

...I was looking for suggestions of what to do because our combined income is over $200k/year before deductions and we can no longer contribute to our Roth IRA or deduct IRA contributions.

Welcome again Ken (I said hi on the Tesla thread).